History of the Diokno-Lapides Essay Contest

The Diokno/Lapides Essay Contest was created in 2013 to carry on a nearly 30-year history of recognizing excellence in Urology through the Jack Lapides Essay Contest.

Originally established in 1985 to honor Jack Lapides, M.D., chairman of Urology at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, the essay contest recognizes an individual or group doing outstanding work in the field of Urology. The prize was renamed in 2013 to honor the contributions of Ananias C. Diokno, M.D. to the field of Urology.

Past Grand Prize Winners

  • Tatsuya Ihara, MD, Ph.D. (2017)
  • Takahiro Shimizu, Ph.D. (2016)
  • Georgi V. Petkov, Ph.D. (2015)
  • Kanno Yukiko, M.D. (2014)
  • Hai-Hong Jiang, M.D., Ph.D. (2013)
  • Akira Furuta, M.D., Ph.D. (2012)
  • Pradeep Tyagi, Ph.D. (2011)
  • Minoro Miyazato, M.D., Ph.D. (2009)
  • Trinity J. Bivalacqua, M.D. (2008)
  • Tetsuya Imamura, M.D. (2007)
  • Atsushi Numata, M.D. (2006)
  • Chuan-Guo Xiao, M.D. (2005)
  • Hannes Strasser, M.D. (2004)
  • Chuan-Guo Xiao, M.D. (2003)
  • Karen A. Blackstone, M.D. (2002)
  • Satoshi Yotsuyanagi, M.D. (2001)
  • Teruhiko Yokoyama, M.D. (2000)
  • Michael B. Chancellor, M.D.; Naoki Yoshimura, M.D., Ph.D. (1999)
  • Michael C. Truss, M.D. (1998)
  • Maryrose P. Sullivan, Ph.D. (1997)
  • Imre Kifor, Ph.D. (1997)
  • Arthur L. Burnett, M.D. (1996)
  • Katsuyuki Baba, M.D. (1995)
  • Serge Carrier, M.D. (1994)
  • Michael B. Chancellor, M.D. (1993)
  • Markus Hohenfellner, M.D. (1992)
  • Jeremy W. P. Heaton, M.D. (1991)
  • Ellen Shapiro, M.D. (1990)
  • Rudd J. L. H. Bosch, M.D.; Hugh D. Flood, FRCSI (1989)
  • Barry A. Kogan, M.D. (1988)
  • Marshall L. Stoller, M.D. (1987)
  • K. P. Junemann, M.D. (1986)
  • Irwin Goldstein, M.D. (1985)

About Beaumont's Urology Program

Beaumont's urology program is led by Kenneth M. Peters, M.D., an international leader in neuromodulation, interstitial cystitis and the treatment of voiding dysfunction. Beaumont's program includes more than 40 fellowship-trained urologists representing all areas of urology, including nine urologists trained in female pelvic medicine and reconstruction. With a robust academic environment, Beaumont has an accredited fellowship program (led by Larry Sirls, M.D.) and one of the most sought after urology residencies in the country (led by Jay Hollander, M.D.).

Beaumont urology is known for novel research, including:

  • lumbar to sacral nerve rerouting to restore voiding and bowel function in spina bifida
  • autologous muscle-derived cells for treatment of stress incontinence
  • tibial and pudendal neuromodulation for voiding dysfunction and pelvic pain
  • intravesical liposomes for interstitial cystitis