Corewell Health is the new name for Beaumont.

The trauma center at Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital has proven its ability to provide the entire spectrum of high-level surgical care for injured adults and children. The hospital's dedication to providing optimal care for children recently earned it a Level II pediatric trauma verification from the American College of Surgeons.

To be verified as a Level II pediatric trauma center, a hospital must:

  • admit at least 100 children a year under age 15
  • have specialized pediatric equipment
  • have fellowship-trained pediatric specialists in orthopedics, neurosurgery, emergency and anesthesiology
  • offer pediatric rehabilitation services
  • have a pediatric emergency center
  • have pediatric intensive care unit
  • have a pediatric trauma team
  • have a pediatric performance improvement program

Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital is one of only a few Level II pediatric trauma centers in Michigan.

The hospital is also verified by ACS as a Level I trauma center, the highest designation for trauma care. Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital is the only Level I trauma center in Oakland and Macomb counties.

At Beaumont's trauma center:

  • surgeons are on-call 24/7
  • Beaumont One air medical transportation service is available to airlift patients between hospitals and from accident scenes
  • doctors and nurses are all specially trained in trauma care
  • state-of-the-art diagnostic and testing equipment are available
  • the trauma team is ready when the patient arrives and cares for him throughout his hospital stay
  • the spectrum of care encompasses pre-hospital care through the rehabilitation process
  • family support is available, including social workers and pastoral care
  • a trauma registry is kept to aid trauma research

ACS verification is based on an on-site review by a team of experienced ACS site reviewers based on guidelines for providing optimal care for injured patients. ACS reverification is required every three years. The verification process includes a careful examination of clinical expertise and patient outcomes, and a review of the other components necessary to maintain Trauma Center status, including education and trauma prevention efforts in the community as well as research.