All visitors must wear a face mask covering the nose and mouth, regardless of vaccination status | Learn More »

3/10/2020 5:21:27 PM Reporting from Detroit,MI
Beaumont Health team members receive awards and recognition
3/10/2020 5:21:27 PM
Ten Beaumont employees are acknowledged for special recognition.

Beaumont Health team members receive awards and recognition

Ten Beaumont employees are acknowledged for special recognition.
Beaumont Health

Beaumont Health team members receive awards and recognition

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Beaumont Health is pleased to announce the following recognitions: 

Four Beaumont employees appointed to Michigan medical boards and task force

Governor Gretchen Whitmer has named four employees to state medical boards and a task force: Dr. Ali Moiin, a dermatologist, will serve on the Michigan Board of Medicine; Dr. Melissa Mafiah, a physical medicine and rehabilitation physician, will serve on the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists; Sara Klatt, a speech pathologist for Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, was appointed to serve on the Michigan Board of Speech Language Pathology; and Michael Coraci, a physician assistant, will serve on the Michigan Task Force on Physician’s Assistants. Their terms will expire Dec. 31, 2023.

Beaumont, Dearborn leader appointed to ACHE Council of Regents

Thomas Lanni Jr., chief operating officer, Beaumont Hospital, Dearborn, has been appointed to the Council of Regents, the legislative body of the American College of Healthcare Executives. The Council of Regents serves as the vital link between the ACHE and members by approving governance and membership regulations as well as promoting ACHE programs, services and activities within their respective areas. He will join the council March 21 for a three-year term.

Chaiyasate recipient of ASRM’s ‘2019 Best Microsurgical Save of the Year’

Dr. Kongkrit Chaiyasate, a reconstructive microsurgeon at Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, was recently recognized by the American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery at its annual conference with the “2019 Best Mircrosurgical Save of the Year” award. Numerous media stories have documented the complex craniofacial cases Dr. Chaiyasate, has taken through the years. Whether it’s the result of an accident, hereditary condition or cancer, he and his team thrive on challenges: reconstructing a nose, an ear, jaw, lip or repairing a cleft palate. 

Beaumont, Dearborn surgeon becomes Fellow of ACS

Dr. Nathan LaFayette, a bariatric and general surgeon with Beaumont Hospital, Dearborn became a fellow of the American College of Surgeons at the College’s Clinical Congress. By meeting the college’s stringent membership requirements, fellows of the college have earned the distinguished right to use the designation “FACS” or Fellow, American College of Surgeons after their names.

Hematologist named to ABIM’s national hematology board

Dr. Ishmael Jaiyesimi, a hematologist and oncologist with Beaumont hospitals in Royal Oak and Troy, has been named to the American Board of Internal Medicine Governance, Hematology Board. The ABIM’s governance structure consists of more than 350 members on more than 50 boards and committees. The specialty boards are responsible for the broad definition of the discipline across certification and maintenance of certification.

External Communications director named one of ‘Oakland County’s 40 Under 40’

Mark Geary, director, External Communications and Media Relations for Beaumont Health, was selected to be a member of the Oakland County Executive’s Elite 40 Under 40 Class of 2020. The program, in its ninth year, honors young professionals and thought leaders who live and work in Oakland County and have achieved excellence in their profession. In his Beaumont role, Geary develops, plans and executes media relations strategies, objectives and tactics to enhance Beaumont’s presence and reputation – regionally and nationally.

Khandhar recipient of SCCM’s Presidential Citation Award

Dr. Paras Khandhar, a pediatric critical care specialist with Beaumont, Royal Oak, was presented with the Society of Critical Care Medicine’s Presidential Citation Award. The award recognizes SCCM members who have made extraordinary contributions of time, energy and resources to the organization in 2019.